Waisenkinder in Tansania
This website uses session cookies. By continuing to use the website, you agree to their use. You can close this note by clicking on the button. Data privacy
Daniel Preuß


The founder of Streetkids International, Daniel Preuß, is still the driving force of the small, non-profit charity today. In this interview, he recounts his incentives, the purpose of the charity, the work in Tanzania and of problems including corruption.

 

Founder Daniel Preuß

An Interview

Mr Preuß, how did it come about that you founded the association Streetkids International e.V.?

Daniel Preuß in Tanzania

In 1999 I was working in Tanzania. At a cocktail party in the capital Dar es Salaam, a Tanzanian social worker Consolata Lifa approached me and asked me – in perfect German by the way – if I wanted to do something for their country, which is amongt the poorest in the world. We got to talking, and it wasn’t long before I knew: I want to help the people in this country! At the time I was an IT manager, and the Golden Years of the new economy had allowed me to put aside some money. The very next day, I transferred a sum, which would be able to rent a house, and shortly afterwards the first orphanage could be acquired.

 

That is now ten years ago. What happened next?

Friends and acquaintances in Germany supported me; on one hand through donations, but also in that they acted as multipliers or were on hand with the know-how to create an internet presence. In 2001 I founded the association of Streetkids International, to be able to give donors tax relief for their commitment. The association is now recognised as non-profit and charitable.
We have been running four of our own orphanages since 2015, in which over 50 children live, who come from families who are no longer in the position to look after the little ones themselves. In addition we have the production and training workshop, where young people are trained to become carpenters or tailors. Since 2014 we have also been running our own little kindergarden with our own staff. It is being further expanded.

www.montessori-friends.org

Daniel Preuß mit Waisen
 

Who are the supporters of the association?

That is on one hand individuals who donate 20, 30, 50 or even 100€ a month. They know that almost 100% of their financial help arrives with the children. Streetkids International has an administrative expense of less than 10%, which we cover using money from foundations or appropriated donations.

But companies also get involved: they accept their responsibility to society and take on sponsorships, generously support construction or operation of the orphanages.

How does the association Streetkids International work?

The association is partly active in Germany, and partly on location in Tanzania. All general administrative operations are part of the work in Germany, like the personal services and information for sponsors and members of the association, the compiling and sending of the ‚Streetkids Post,’ our newsletter, and accounts and book keeping. In addition, activites in Tanzania are monitored via phone and email. And we are always looking for new sponsors and members!

How do you organise and coordinate the work in Tanzania?

Daniel Preuß mit Waise
As a general rule, I do the work in Tanzania in person. Every time I travel to Tanzania I bring clothes, schoolbags, stationery, and toys for the children with me. On location I supervise the management of the household in the orphanages. I talk with the teachers to see how the children are achieving in school. When more children should be taken into one of the two orphanages, I visit their social environment to make sure that they really have no more relatives who could look after them. And I acquire staff and volunteers locally.
 

What are the donations used for?

For food, for medical care and for school and training. For medicines against malaria, inflammation, skin diseases, vitamins for malnourished children, for antibiotics and surgical dressing. For paying the foster families and staff, for house repairs and maintenance of the water systems. For essential purchases like kerosene for lights, oil for cooking and for plenty of water. And also for cars so that we can transport everything.

Aufmerksame Waisenkinder
 

Tanzania is a country in which corruption pervades the entire state system. How is cooperation with the authorities?

Daniel Preuß mit Waisen

Corruption is one of the biggest problems in Tanzania and it harms of course the poor especially. Of course, it also hinders our work: budgets for the new build of another orphanage, for the school and further education of the children or for medical care must be constantly re-discussed with the authorities, and procedures continuously re-clarified. Even the official status of the association, its nonprofitability and charitability is constantly debated and has to be re-negotiated, because government employees are trying to swindle money by defining new rules and regulations out of the blue, which ultimately boils down to a bribe. Nevertheless we always try to avoid this for the sake of our children.

 

Interview as pdf download (German)

Address

STREETKIDS International e.V.
Kölner Straße 74
60327 Frankfurt am Main
Germany

Contact

Tel. +49 (0) 69 / 1 75 54 90 22
Fax +49 (0) 69 / 1 75 54 90 23
info@helfensie.de
Contact Form

Help us

Boost Logo

Support us with your online shop at no extra cost!

 

You can also find us here:

 
Powered by Weblication®

Waisenkinder in Tansania
Daniel Preuß


Der Gründer von Streetkids International e.V., Daniel Preuß, ist auch heute der Motor der kleinen gemeinnützigen Hilfsorganisation. 

Im folgenden Interview berichtet er von seiner Motivation, den Aufgaben des Vereins, der Arbeit in Tansania und von Problemen bis hin zur Korruption.

 

Gründer Daniel Preuß

Ein Interview

Herr Preuß, wie sind Sie dazu gekommen, den Verein STREETKIDS INTERNATIONAL e.V. zu gründen?

Daniel Preuß in Tanzania

1999 war ich beruflich in Tansania. Auf einer Cocktailparty in der Hauptstadt Dar es Salaam sprach mich die tansanische Sozialarbeiterin Consolata Lifa an und fragte mich – übrigens in perfektem Deutsch –, ob ich nicht etwas für ihr Land, das zu den ärmsten der Welt gehört, tun wolle. Ich kam mit ihr ins Gespräch und es dauerte nicht lange, bis ich wusste: Den Menschen in diesem Land will ich helfen! Zu der Zeit war ich IT-Manager, und die goldenen Jahre der New Economy hatten es mir ermöglicht, etwas Geld zurücklegen zu können. Gleich am nächsten Tag überwies ich ihr eine Summe, mit der ein Haus angemietet werden konnte, in das kurz darauf die ersten Waisenkinder aufgenommen werden konnten.

 

Das ist jetzt mehr als zehn Jahre her. Wie ging es dann weiter?

Freunde und Bekannte in Deutschland unterstützten mich; einerseits durch Spenden, aber auch, indem sie als Multiplikatoren fungierten oder mir mit Know-how für die Erstellung einer Internetpräsenz zur Seite standen. 2001 gründete ich den Verein STREETKIDS International, um den Spendern eine steuerliche Erleichterung für ihr Engagement geben zu können. Der Verein ist mittlerweile als gemeinnützig und mildtätig anerkannt. 
Wir unterhalten seit 2015 bereits vier eigene Waisenhäuser, in denen über 50 Waisenkinder leben, die aus Familien kommen, die nicht mehr in der Lage sind, sich selber um die Kleinen zu kümmern. Zudem haben wir eine Produktions- und Lehrwerkstatt, in der Jugendliche zu SchreinerInnen oder SchneiderInnen ausgebildet werden.
Seit 2014 betreiben wir außerdem unseren eigenen kleinen Kindergarten mit unseren eigenen Mitarbeitern. Er wird weiter ausgebaut.

www.montessori-friends.org

Daniel Preuß mit Waisen
 

Wer sind die Unterstützer des Vereins?

Das sind zum einen Privatpersonen, die 20, 30, 50 oder auch 100 Euro im Monat spenden. Sie wissen, dass ihre finanzielle Hilfe zu 100% ankommt.
Ein wichtiges Standbein sind Stiftungen, die uns unterstützen. Mit diesen Geldern kaufen wir Grundstücke und bauen Waisenhäuser. Wir haben einen Verwaltungsaufwand von weniger als 10%, den wir über Stiftungsgelder oder zweckgebunden Spenden decken. 

Aber auch Unternehmen und Unternehmer engagieren sich: Sie stellen sich ihrer Verantwortung der Gesellschaft gegenüber und übernehmen Patenschaften, fördern großzügig die Baumaßnahmen oder den Unterhalt der Häuser.

Wie arbeitet der Verein STREETKIDS International?

Der Verein ist einerseits in Deutschland aktiv, andererseits vor Ort in Tansania. Zur Arbeit in Deutschland gehören allgemeine administrative Tätigkeiten, wie das persönliche Betreuen und Informieren der Paten und Vereinsmitglieder, das Erstellen und der Versand der STREETKIDS POST, unseres Newsletters, Kontoführung und Buchhaltung. Hinzu kommt die Überwachung der Aktivitäten in Tansania via Telefon und E-Mail. Und wir suchen nach neuen Paten und Vereinsmitgliedern, stellen Interessenten den Verein vor.

Wie organisieren und koordinieren Sie die Arbeit in Tansania?

Daniel Preuß mit Waise

Die Arbeit in Tansania erledige ich in der Regel persönlich.  Jedes Mal, wenn ich nach Tansania fahre, nehme ich Kleidung, Schulrucksäcke, Schreibmaterial und Spielsachen für die Kinder mit. Vor Ort kontrolliere ich die Haushaltsführung in den Waisenhäusern. Ich spreche mit den Lehrern, um zu erfahren, wie die Leistungen der Kinder in der Schule sind. Wenn weitere Kinder in eines der Waisenhäuser aufgenommen werden sollen, besuche ich deren soziales Umfeld, um sicherzugehen, dass sie wirklich keine Familienangehörigen mehr haben, die sich um sie kümmern können. Und ich akquiriere Personal und freiwillige Helfer vor Ort.

 

Wofür werden die Spendengelder eingesetzt?

Für Essen, für medizinische Betreuung und für Schule und Ausbildung. Für Medikamente gegen Malaria, Entzündungen, Hautkrankheiten und Vitamine für unterernährte Kinder; für Antibiotika und Verbandsmaterial. Für das Taschengeld unserer Pflegefamilien und Hilfspersonal, für Hausreparaturen, für die Instandsetzung der Wassersysteme. Für notwendige Anschaffungen wie Kerosin für Licht, Öl zum Kochen, für eine Ersatzpumpe, für Strom.
Und für Autos, um all das auch transportieren zu können.

Aufmerksame Waisenkinder
 

Tansania gilt als Land, in dem Korruption das gesamte Staatssystem durchzieht. Wie ist die Zusammenarbeit mit den Behörden?

Daniel Preuß mit Waisen

Die Korruption ist eines der größten Probleme Tansanias und sie schadet natürlich besonders den Armen. Natürlich behindert sie auch unsere Arbeit: Budgets für den Neubau eines weiteren Waisenhauses, für die Aus- und Weiterbildung der Kinder oder für die medizinische Versorgung müssen mit den Behörden ständig neu diskutiert, Vorgehensweisen permanent neu geklärt werden. Selbst der offizielle Status des Vereins, seine Gemeinnützigkeit und Mildtätigkeit, steht ständig zur Debatte und muss wieder verhandelt werden, denn Behördenmitarbeiter versuchen, sich Geld zu ergaunern, indem sie aus heiterem Himmel neue Vorschriften und Regularien definieren, die letztendlich auf eine Bestechung hinauslaufen. Trotzdem versuchen wir im Interesse unserer Kinder immer, genau dies zu vermeiden.

 

Interview zum Download

Anschrift

STREETKIDS International e.V.
Kölner Straße 74
60327 Frankfurt am Main
Deutschland

Kontakt

Tel. +49 (0) 69 / 1 75 54 90 22
Fax +49 (0) 69 / 1 75 54 90 23
info@helfensie.de
Kontaktformular

Helfen Sie uns

Boost Logo
 

Folgen Sie uns!

 
Powered by Weblication®