Waisenkinder in Tansania
This website uses session cookies. By continuing to use the website, you agree to their use. You can close this note by clicking on the button. Data privacy

Health and Hygiene

Laying the Groundwork

Zwei der Kleinen

When new children come to us, they are mostly undernourished or have years of a lack of malnutrition behind them. Often they have only been fed with roots and maize. Since our children come from socially very criticial situations and all have no parents, the care for them was very poor. The same for hygiene. Some of our children had never seen a toilet or eaten from a table.
With us we have three mealtimes, in critical cases sometimes four.

 

Balanced Diet

Many of our children are very small because of resulting development disorders. The delayed development and stunted growth are directly related to poor diet. We see this especially with our Massai children. This ethnic group drinks milk and blood, as do the children. There are at least no growth problems in the early years.
We control for this by making sure that the children have plenty of vegetables and a varied diet by African standards. In addition our drinking water comes from 80 metres underground and is pure and clean.

Brot für Waisen
 
Zahnbürste

Entrance Check Up

The children go through a check up on arrival. Most infections and skin diseases are detected at this point. Often the children also have worms. This is all treated; most have yellow and glassy eyes and after two months it clears up; with skin diseases it takes a little longer.
Our children also get chicken pox and other illnesses which are long since under control through vaccination in other countries.

 

Dealing with HIV

We do two independent HIV tests with all the children. We cannot take in children infected with HIV because our staff are thin on the ground and we cannot meet the state requirements for running AIDS orphanages. The effort would be unsustainable for our small charity and the director would not expect the volunteers to carry such a psychological burden.
Jungs zusammen
 
Aufklärungsarbeit in den Waisenhäusern

Educational Work

Since 2014 we have been operating professional education in AIDS as well as special training on the theme of hygiene. Before puberty, our children learn how their bodies work, how pregnancies and AIDS can be prevented and how bacteria and germs can affect them.

 

Dealing with Sexual Abuse

Sexual abuse is also a health issue. Particularly orphans are more likely to be abused than children with parents. The majority of Tanzanians believe that orphans or even outright children have no rights at all. They smile as they talk about it. Orphans are often dependent on other family members and have to work hard, or they are used – they just do not have any protection. We rely on specially trained social workers who counsel our children if needed, and support our employees.

Gemeinsam einen Weg finden
 

Medical Care

Medical care is an important pillar of the work in the orphanage. Our children are highly infectious at the beginning, with weakened immune systems, therefore vulnerable to every possible illness. We give our children the care that any responsible mother or father would give their child.

Video

It’s also part of our work to help people in their villages. The Sunday Clinic was for many the only chance to visit a doctor. We closed this project down because of cost and organisational reasons. In the film you can see a medical operation in a river delta on the coast of Tanzania.

 

Our Farm Project

The farm project is designed to improve the children’s care through a healthy diet. In light of the fact that most jobs in Tanzania are in farming and agriculture, the farm provides a chance for children to be later trained in agriculture careers. Consequently we generate long term jobs with the farm project, with which we can stabilise the orphans’ economic situation.

Farmland

We first bought farmland in 2011, located about an hour away from the orphanages in Mwandege. Since then we have been keeping goats and doing large scale passionfruit farming on it. Meanwhile, we bought the land next to it in order to expand the farm. In addition, we built the first raised stable in local style for a special breed of milking goat. The goat breeding is going well, and our little ones are already drinking the goat’s milk!
In the holidays our older children help out on the the farm – and learn for life.

Pictures from Our Farm Project


Help This Project

Despite the initial success of our farm, this project is still very new to us, above all working with living animals. Many challenges stand before us.
The farm project is already supported by many donors and associations, but the need is still greater than what we can currently afford.

Please help us further by donating to Streetkids International e.V’s orphanage farm project.

Address

STREETKIDS International e.V.
Kölner Straße 74
60327 Frankfurt am Main
Germany

Contact

Tel. +49 (0) 69 / 1 75 54 90 22
Fax +49 (0) 69 / 1 75 54 90 23
info@helfensie.de
Contact Form

Help us

Boost Logo

Support us with your online shop at no extra cost!

 

You can also find us here:

 
Powered by Weblication®

Waisenkinder in Tansania

Gesundheit und Hygiene

Eine Basis schaffen

Zwei der Kleinen

Wenn neue Kinder zu uns kommen, sind sie meist unterernährt oder haben Jahre der Mangel Ernährung hinter sich. Oft ernährten sie sich nur von Wurzeln und Maisbrei.
Da unsere Kinder aus sozial sehr kritischem Umfeld kommen und alle keine Eltern haben, ist die Versorgung extrem schlecht gewesen. Ebenso die Hygiene. Manche unserer Kinder haben noch nie eine Toilette gesehen oder vom Tisch gegessen.
Bei uns gibt es drei Mahlzeiten, für die kritischen Fälle am Anfang sogar vier.

 

Ausgewogene Ernährung

Viele unserer Kinder sind sehr klein. Dadurch resultieren Entwicklungsstörungen. Die verzögerte Entwicklung und die Wachstumsstörungen hängen direkt mit der schlechten Ernährung zusammen. Wir sehen dies besonders an den Massai Kinder bei uns. Diese ethnische Gruppe trinkt Milch und Blut, so auch die Kinder. Bei diesen gibt es zumindest keine Wachstumsprobleme in den ersten Jahren.
Wir steuern dagegen in dem wir darauf achten, dass es viel Gemüse gibt und eine für afrikanische Verhältnisse abwechslungsreiche Ernährung. Außerdem kommt unser Trinkwasser aus ca. 80 Meter Tiefe und ist rein und sauber.

Brot für Waisen
 
Zahnbürste

Eingangsuntersuchung

Die Kinder durchlaufen einen Eingangsuntersuchung. Dort werden meistens Infektionen und Hautkrankheiten festgestellt. Häufig sind die Kinder auch verwurmt. Dies wird alles behandelt, meist sind die anfänglich gelben und glasigen Augen nach zwei Monaten wieder klar, bei Hautkrankheiten dauert es ein wenig länger.
Unsere Kinder bekommen auch Windpocken und andere Krankheiten, die in reichen Ländern durch Impfung längst unter Kontrolle sind.

 

Umgang mit HIV

Wir machen mit allen Kindern zwei unabhängig HIV Tests. Wir können nicht HIV infizierte Kinder aufnehmen, da unsere Personaldecke dünn ist und wir die staatlichen Voraussetzungen für den Betrieb von AIDS Häusern nicht erfüllen können. Der Aufwand wäre für unseren kleinen Verein nicht tragbar und der Vorstand will die psychische Belastung unsere ehrenamtlichen Mitarbeiter nicht zumuten.

Jungs zusammen
 
Aufklärungsarbeit in den Waisenhäusern

Auklärungsarbeit

Seit 2014 betreiben wir professionell AIDS Aufklärung sowie spezielle Aufklärung zum Thema Hygiene. Unsere Kinder lernen vor der Pubertät wie Ihr Körper funktioniert, wie Schwangerschaften und AIDS verhindert werden können und was es mit Bakterien und Keimen auf sich hat.

 

Umgang mit sexuellem Missbrauch

Sexueller Missbrauch ist auch ein Gesundheitsthema. Gerade Waisenkinder werden öfter missbraucht als Kinder, die Eltern haben. Ein Großteil der Tansanier glaubt, das Waisenkinder und überhaupt Kinder keine Rechte haben. Man lächelt darüber, wenn man sie darauf anspricht. Waisenkinder sind oft abhängig von anderen Familienmitgliedern und müssen hart arbeiten, oder man bedient sich ihrer - sie haben ja keinen Schutz. Wir greifen auf speziell ausgebildete Sozialarbeiter zurück, die unsere Kinder bei Bedarf befragen und unsere Mitarbeiter unterstützen.

Gemeinsam einen Weg finden
 

Medizinische Versorgung

Die medizinische Versorgung ist ein wichtiger Pfeiler der Arbeit im Waisenhaus.
Unsere Kinder sind gerade am Amfang hoch infektiös und geschwächt und somit anfällig für alle mögliche Krankheiten. Wir geben unseren Kindern die Betreuung, die auch hier jede verantwortungsvolle Mutter oder Vater ihrem Kind geben würde.

Video

Zu unserer Arbeit gehört es auch, den Menschen in ihren Dörfern zu helfen. Die Sunday Clinic war für viele die einzige Chance, einen Arzt zu besuchen. Aus Kosten- und Organisationsgründen ist diese eingestellt worden. Im Film sieht man eine med. Einsatz in einem Flußdelta an der Küste Tansanias.

 

Unser Farmprojekt

Das Farmprojekt des Waisenhauses ist dazu gedacht, die Versorgung unserer Waisenkinder mit gesunden Lebensmitteln zu verbessern. Vor dem Hintergrund, dass es in der Land- und Agrarwirtschaft die meisten Jobs in Tansania gibt, bietet die Farm gleichzeitig die Chance, Waisen später in landwirtschaftlichen Berufen auszubilden. Somit schaffen wir mit dem Farmprojekt langfristig Jobs, mit denen wir die wirtschaftliche Situation der Waisenkinder stabilisieren können.

Farmland

Im Jahr 2011 haben wir das erste Mal Farmland gekauft, etwa eine Stunde von den Waisenhäusern in Mwandege entfernt. Seitdem halten wir auf dem Gelände Ziegen und bauen im großen Stil Passionsfrüchte an. Mittlerweile haben wir Land dazu gekauft, um die Farm zu erweitern. Außerdem haben wir dort im lokalen Stil den ersten Hochstall für eine besondere Milchziegenrasse gebaut. Die Ziegenzucht läuft: Unsere Kleinen trinken bereits die erste Ziegenmilch!
In den Ferien helfen unsere großen Kinder oft auf der Farm mit - sie lernen dabei fürs Leben.

Bilder vom Farmprojekt


Helfen Sie bei dem Projekt

Trotz der ersten Erfolge auf unserer Farm ist dieses Projekt immer noch sehr neu für uns, vor allem durch die Arbeit mit lebenden Tieren: Wir stehen vor vielen Herausforderungen.
Das Farmprojekt wird bereits von vielen Spendern und Stiftungen unterstützt. Dennoch ist der Bedarf größer als das, was wir gegenwärtig leisten können. 

Bitte helfen Sie uns weiter, indem Sie für das Farmprojekt der Waisenhäuser von Streetkids International e.V. spenden.

  • Sofort spenden

    Sofort spenden

    Nutzend Sie einfach das Online Formular, um direkt online und ohne großen Aufwand eine Spende zu machen.

    mehr erfahren

Anschrift

STREETKIDS International e.V.
Kölner Straße 74
60327 Frankfurt am Main
Deutschland

Kontakt

Tel. +49 (0) 69 / 1 75 54 90 22
Fax +49 (0) 69 / 1 75 54 90 23
info@helfensie.de
Kontaktformular

Helfen Sie uns

Boost Logo
 

Folgen Sie uns!

 
Powered by Weblication®